latest: online
Discovery Park in Union City, TN


The Sterling Awards 2017: 20 Most Influential Women in West Tennessee ceremony was held on April 4, Equal Pay Day, at the J. Walter Barnes Conference Center at Jackson General Hospital in Jackson, Tenn.

Receiving an award was Mrs. Jenny Kirkland of Union City, chosen as one of the 20 Most Influential Women in West Tennessee.

Mrs. Kirkland is known for her work through the Robert E. and Jenny D. Kirkland Foundation, with involvement in The Union City Rotary Club Scholarship Program, the Union City Rotary Club European Trip, and The Promethean Foundation, serving on the board of directors.

The 2017 Sterling Award Recipients are: Brownsville: Arlisa Armstrong, area director, USDA Rural Development.; Savannah, Carolyn Blakney, vice-president, CB&S Bank; Atoka, Kasey Culbreath, attorney-at-law, Kasey A. Culbreath, P.C.; Union City, Jenny Kirkland, board chair of Robert E. and Jenny D. Kirkland Foundation and The Promethean Foundation; Dyersburg, Judy Long, president and CEO of First Citizens National Bank; Selmer, LaShell Moore, pre-kindergarten teacher, McNairy County Schools; Henderson, Renee Phelps, customer service representative, Clayton Bank & Trust Co.; from Lexington, Sandy Stanfill, lead off-campus director at Jackson State Community College, Lexington Center, and Ginger Terry, Farmspace Systems, public relations director.

Winners from Jackson are: Elaine Christian, past president, Jackson-Madison County Library Foundation Board; Dr. Amy Dietrich, retired associate professor, University of Memphis; Kathleen Huneycutt, director, Health, Sanitation, Animal Control, City of Jackson; Abby Lackey, associate professor, Jackson State Community College, founder, Heaven's Cradle; Tawanika McKinney, State of TN Fiscal Director, Henning.; Dr. Teri Maddox, vice-president for Dyersburg State Community College; Susan Oliver, First Lady, Union University, United Way Ambassador; Debra Owen, attorney, Jackson Shields, Yeiser and Holt; Helen Owens, assistant professor, Lane College. Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority national president; Darlette Samuels, Chief of Staff, Lane College; Laura Williams, attorney, Rainey, Kizer, Reviere & Bell, PLC.

or text OBIONCOUNTY to 22828
to join or mailing list

Obion County Chamber logo footer

Copyright © 2018 Discover Obion County
All Rights Reserved